Jerry King


Jerry directed Kapalua Resort’s golf instruction program from 1995 – 2012 and was instrumental in the creation and design of the Kapalua Golf Academy, working on all levels of project development and coordination of the state-of-the-art facility that opened in January of 2000. Currently, he is Owner & Director of JERRY KING GOLF and also directs TaylorMade Golf in Hawaii, Saipan & Guam.

Jerry has contributed an extensive array of instructional articles to local and national publications, and has been featured eight (8) times on The Golf Channel’s “Golf Academy Live” in Orlando, Florida. Jerry has been the emcee and official starter of the PGA TOUR’s Hyundai Tournament of Champions (formerly Mercedes-Benz & SBS Championship) from 2000-2012. Under his leadership, the Kapalua Golf Academy was recognized by GOLF Magazine in its “Top 25 Golf Schools in America”. Golf Digest magazine has designated Jerry as “Top Teacher in Hawaii” for the eighth year and Jerry is currently recognized as a GOLF Magazine TOP 100 Teacher.


PGA of America National Instruction Committee
GOLF Magazine Top 100 Education Committee
Advisory Board: Golf Professional Marketing Academy
Board of Directors: Hawaii State Junior Golf Association
Certified AimPoint Instructor


Aloha Section PGA Teacher of the Year Award 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2006
Aloha Section PGA Horton Smith Award 2005, 2008
Aloha Section PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award 2007
Aloha Section PGA President’s Plaque Award 2010

Current professionals and amateurs students (a select few):

Stephanie Kono
LPGA Tour, NCAA National Champions UCLA
Member of the victorious 2010 Curtis Cup Team
Consecutive 1st team NCAA All-American
Sam Cyr
Winner of the 2008 & 2009 NAIA National Golf Championships
San Diego Hall of Champions 2009 “Amateur Athlete of the Year”
1st Professional win at the 2010 Mid-Pacific Open, 2011 Maui Open Champion, 2011 Hawaii State Open Champion
Alex Chiarella
Winner – 2010, 2011 & 2012 Hawaii State Junior Golf Championship
Winner – 2012 Maui Open Championship
2009 Hawaii Junior Tour Series Champion

Celebrities / Notables instructed over the years:

Joe Torre, Clint Eastwood, Kelly Slater, Bodie Miller, Samuel L. Jackson, Dennis Hopper, Royal Prince Moulay Rachid, Anthony Anderson, Kelsey Grammer, Mick Fleetwood, Oliver Hudson, Rachel Ray, Chris Noth, Kyle MacLachlan, Rich Lerner, Stuart Scott, Chris Mortensen, President Gerald Ford, Clay Walker, Ming Tsai, Thomas Keller, etc.

January 6, 2013